More About The Achievement Gap

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/08/05/us/a-summer-of-extra-reading-and-hope-for-fourth-grade.html?hpw&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&version=HpHedThumbWell&module=well-region&region=bottom-well&WT.nav=bottom-well&_r=2

A short excerpt from the New York Times article
U.S. |NYT Now
A Summer of Extra Reading and Hope for Fourth Grade
Literacy Laws Challenge Third Graders and Schools
“If I were a parent and I had a struggling third grader, I would get whatever help I could to help get them up to speed,” said Deborah J. Stipek, dean of the Graduate School of Education at Stanford University. “But if I were a state policymaker or superintendent, I would say, ‘What can we offer these kids in pre-K, kindergarten and first grade so they aren’t behind when they get to third grade?’ ”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Johng547
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 09:43:09

    Aw, this was a very nice post. In thought I want to put in writing like this moreover taking time and actual effort to make an excellent article but what can I say I procrastinate alot and not at all seem to get something done. gbaddddcaecf

    Reply

Leave a Reply

